# CONNECTICUT COMMUNITY FOUNDATION Minutes of the 96<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting August 1, 2019 La Bella Vista, Waterbury

#### I. Call to order and welcome

Doug Johnson, chair of the Board of Trustees, called the meeting to order. Mr. Johnson welcomed all in attendance and provided some highlights of the Foundation's work over the past year, including over 400 scholarships awarded for the 2019-2020 school year, and \$4 million of grants and other support to nonprofits serving our community in 2018. He thanked all the donors, volunteers, and others who have helped and continue to help to support the Foundation's work.

Mr. Johnson reported that the Foundation has continued to focus on supporting critical programs and services, building leadership in our communities and strengthening local organizations from the inside out.

Mr. Johnson shared progress and outcomes of the following activities and programs:

- Give Local Greater Waterbury and the Litchfield Hills, raising more than \$1.34 million for 268 local organizations in 2019.
- Grassroots Grants program, which supports Waterbury leaders.
- Women's Giving Circle, comprised of 65 women who pooled and granted over \$30,000 in the circle's second year.
- Western Connecticut Leadership Program, which graduated a fifth class in 2018, and the alumni of which continue to apply skills, experience and energy in support of nonprofits in the region.
- Catchafire, which enabled 150 nonprofits to connect with skilled volunteers to tackle a variety of projects.

Mr. Johnson also noted that at the close of the second quarter of 2019, the Foundation held more than \$110 million in assets, which means more resources for the community.

Mr. Johnson turned to the business of the annual meeting, explaining that the Foundation's members—identified by notations on their nametags—are eligible to vote on the business matters on the agenda. He explained that the Foundation's bylaws defined members as Fund Founders, 1923 Legacy Society members who have included the Foundation in their estate plans, and current and former trustees of the Foundation.

## **II. Approval of Minutes**

Mr. Johnson referred members to the distributed minutes from the 95<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Foundation, which was held on July 26, 2018, and called for a motion to approve the minutes.

MOTION to approve the minutes from the July 26, 2018 meeting as presented. Motion seconded and passed unanimously.

Mr. Johnson introduced President and CEO Julie Loughran. Ms. Loughran addressed

attendees and thanked them for their support of the Foundation and the region. Ms. Loughran provided highlights and insight into the Foundation's work toward a new strategic direction.

#### III. Election of Trustees

Ms. Loughran invited Brian Henebry, secretary of the board and a member of the Governance Committee, to address the election of trustees.

Mr. Henebry introduced Kathy McPadden as a nominee for initial three-year term ending in 2022. Mr. Henebry announced that the Governance committee had also nominated four current trustees for second three-year terms ending in 2022: Reggie Beamon, Kathy Bower, Valerie Friedman, and Kathy Kehoe.

Mr. Henebry formally offered all of the nominees for a vote by members and called for a motion.

MOTION to elect the nominees as trustees to the Connecticut Community Foundation for a three-year term. Seconded and passed unanimously.

This concluded the business portion of the annual meeting.

# **IV. Departing Trustee**

Mr. Johnson acknowledged retiring trustee Carolyn Setlow for her dedication to and work with the Foundation.

### V. Additional Presentations

Carolyn Setlow shared remarks regarding her years of board service, and her involvement as a member of the Trustee Fund. Ms. Setlow provided an overview of the Fund's purpose and membership, and reviewed past recipients of the annual Trustee Fund award. Trustee Fund member Emily Littman Eisen presented a Trustee Fund Award to Greenwoods Counseling Referrals. John Simoncelli, executive director of Greenwoods, accepted the award. Trustee Fund member Martha Bernstein presented a Trustee Fund Award to Naugatuck River Revival and Waterbury Police Activity League (PAL). Mara Keggi Ford, executive director of Waterbury PAL, accepted the award.

Mr. Johnson thanked everyone for coming and for their efforts to further the work of the Foundation and to make our community stronger. The annual meeting was adjourned.

Attest:		
Brian	Henebry, Secretary	

# Connecticut Community Foundation Attendees of the 2019 Annual Meeting and Summer Social

# **Foundation Members**

**Iack Baker** Valerie Friedman Peter North David Pelletier Pam Baker Rosemary Giuliano Reggie Beamon **Brian Henebry** Iames O'Rourke **Douglas Johnson Edith Reynolds** Martha Bernstein Elizabeth Johnson Randolph Richardson Kathy Bower Megan Johnson George Seabourne Carmen Carlson **Brian Jones** Carolyn Setlow David Carlson **Robert Cinnante** Kathryn Kehoe Stephen Seward Richard Lau Marie Stephanak Isabelle Curtiss Elaine Lau Peter Staphanak Anne Delo Kathy Taylor **Iudith Eslami Emily Littman Eisen** Mehdi Eslami Ann Merriam Feinberg Donald Thompson Michael Feinberg Vita Muir **Dorothy West** 

#### **Other Attendees**

Peter Adamo Anne GreenHeidi Green Marcia Moriarty **Iackie Aviles** Karen Halpert Ella Newman Fred Newman Mark Berardi **Carol Haskins** Tina Bernacki Sharon Houle Randall Tom O'Connor Christine Bianchi **Iessica Jaramillo** Neil O'Leary Carol Buckheit Janice Lee Joseph Debbie Orrino Ellen Carter Mara Keggi Ford Whitney Peet **Crystal Coggins** Harold Kramer Tricia Poirier **Cyrise Davis** Daniel Lauer Ashlev Praskievicz Mackenzie Demac Trish Lindenman Lawrence Rifkin Christine Edelson Kaleb Roman Iulie Loughran **Neal Lustig** Barbara Ryer Ed Edelson Sarah Edelson Baskin Kate MacKinney Dick Sears Maura Esposito Querino Maia Sherry Seward Althea Marshall Brooks Tyler Shoban Deborah Foord **Brendan Foulois Jeffrey Martin** John Simoncelli **Patrice Gans** Meg McCreedv Alexander Solod Patrick McKenna Maura Goggins Jean Solomon Cynthia Gray Kathleen McPadden Bilal Tajildeen Mva Grav Cynthia Merrick **Kevin Taylor** Ollie Gray John Monteleone Kevin Zak