CONNECTICUT COMMUNITY FOUNDATION Minutes of the 97th Annual Meeting August 13, 2020 Held Virtually via Zoom

I. Welcome

Julie Loughran, president and CEO, welcomed online attendees to the Foundation's 97th Annual Meeting and introduced Kathy Taylor, chair of the Board of Trustees.

II. Call to Order and Chair's Remarks

Ms. Taylor called the meeting to order and provided some highlights of the Foundation's 2019 strategic planning process noting the data identified priority focus areas of economic stability and opportunity, educational equity and health access and outcomes. Ms. Taylor also highlighted that the process involved an articulation of the Foundation's guiding values. Ms. Taylor shared the Foundation's new mission "to foster an equitable and inclusive community in Greater Waterbury and Litchfield Hills by inspiring generosity, supporting organizations, and cultivating effective leaders," as well as the new vision of "an equitable, inclusive, just, and vibrant community in Greater Waterbury and Litchfield Hills in which all residents have what they need to thrive."

Ms. Taylor shared continued efforts and outcomes of the following activities and programs:

- Nearly \$5 million in grants and scholarships were distributed in the community.
- \$940,000 was awarded in college scholarships in June 2020.
- The grassroots leadership program, which encourages leadership and organizing efforts of Waterbury residents, continues to grow and remain a priority.
- The Women's Giving Circle pooled and granted over \$30,000.
- Give Local Greater Waterbury and the Litchfield Hills raised more than \$1.8 million for over 250 local organizations in 2020.

Ms. Taylor thanked donors, legacy society members and volunteers for all of their contributions to and partnership with the Foundation's work. Ms. Taylor celebrated leaders, staffs and volunteers of nonprofits across Greater Waterbury and the Litchfield Hills.

III. President's Remarks

Ms. Loughran addressed attendees and reviewed the Foundation's strategic plan implementation and COVID-19 response efforts to date.

Ms. Loughran highlighted the following:

- The COVID-19 Respond Fund established by the Foundation and United Way of Greater Waterbury received contributions from several other foundations and many donors. Over 60 grants totaling more than half a million dollars were distributed to nonprofits within the first four months of the fund's existence.
- The COVID-19 Response Fund purchased over 400,000 pieces of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) and distributed them to 109 organizations, providing an 8-11-week supply for nonprofits to keep staffs and clients safe. Ms. Loughran shared gratitude for Doug Johnson and his team at Marion Manufacturing for supporting the distribution.

Ms. Loughran shared the Foundation's expectation to remain responsive and adaptive to community needs through the next phase of the COVID-19 pandemic. Ms. Loughran closed remarks noting the Foundation board and staff are back to focusing on the implementation of the strategic plan and invited attendees to join in charting the new course of the plan.

IV. Introduction of Nominees

Michael Giardina, chair of the Governance Committee, introduced the trustee nominees to be placed into nomination during the business portion of the meeting.

Mr. Giardina introduced Dr. Rebecca Eleck-Bruce, Deborah Foord, Subira Gordon, and Linda Halgunseth as a nominees for initial three-year terms ending in 2023. Mr. Giardina announced that the Governance committee had also nominated three current trustees for second three-year terms ending in 2023: Barbara Bradbury-Pape, Elizabeth Joy Johnson and Rabbi Eric Polokoff.

V. Departing Trustees

Kathy Taylor acknowledged retiring trustees Dan Bedard, Brian Henebry and John Newton and for their dedication to and work with the Foundation.

VI. Trustee Fund Award Presentations

Ann Merriam Feinberg and Martha Bernstein introduced and discussed the Trustee Fund and the annual Trustee Fund Awards. Ms. Bernstein presented a 2021 Trustee Fund award to Brass City Harvest for the Food Hub. Sue Pronovost, executive director of Brass City Harvest, accepted the award. Ms. Feinberg presented a 2021 Trustee Fund award to the Greater Waterbury Re-entry Council. Beth Hines, executive director of Community Partners in Action, accepted the award. Ms. Bernstein presented the final 2021 Trustee Fund award to the Litchfield Community Center for their effective collaborative work. Berta Andrulis Mette, executive director of Litchfield Community Center, accepted the award.

VII. Breakout Room Discussions

Meeting attendees were invited to join breakout rooms to mingle and discuss the Foundation's strategic plan and work with fellow attendees, trustees and staff. Following breakout room discussions, all attendees returned to the main room. Julie reviewed the Foundation's bylaws defined members as Fund Founders, 1923 Legacy Society members who have included the Foundation in their estate plans, and current and former trustees of the Foundation and invited all members to remain on the meeting for the remaining business of the evening.

VIII. Approval of Minutes

Ms. Taylor referred members to the posted minutes from the 96^{th} Annual Meeting of the Foundation, which was held on August 1, 2019, and called for all members attending online to vote to approve the minutes using the meeting poll.

MOTION to approve the minutes from the August 1, 2019 meeting as presented. Motion carried

IX. Election of Trustees

Michael Giardina, chair of the Governance Committee conducted the election of trustees. Mr. Giardina placed three current trustees into nomination for a second three-year term ending in 2023: Barbara Bradbury-Pape, Elizabeth Joy Johnson and Rabbi Eric Polokoff. Mr. Giardina placed Dr. Rebecca Eleck-Bruce, Deborah Foord, Subira Gordon, and Linda Halgunseth as a nominees for initial three-year term ending in 2023.

Mr. Giardina called for all members attending online to vote using the meeting poll.

MOTION to elect the nominees as trustees to the Connecticut Community Foundation for a three-year term. Motion carried.

This concluded the business portion of the annual meeting.

X. Adjournment and Closing Remarks

Ms. Taylor thanked everyone for attending online and for their dedication to the community. The annual meeting was adjourned.

Attest:	
Kathy Bower, Secretary	

Connecticut Community Foundation Attendees of the 2020 Annual Meeting and Summer Social

Foundation Members

Holly Fitzsimmons	Wayne McCormack
Valerie Friedman	Kathleen McPadden
Deborah Fuller	John Michaels
Ronald Garfunkel	Elner Morrell
Michael Giardina	David Pelletier
Rosemary Giuliano	Garret Post
Brian Henebry	Sandra Post
Kristen Jacoby	Karen Powell
Brian Jones	Annie Scott
Kathryn Kehoe	Carolyn Setlow
Richard Lau	Andrew Shapiro
Elaine Lau	Jean Solomon
Jane Mahler	Kathy Taylor
Ingrid Manning	Paula Van Ness
	Valerie Friedman Deborah Fuller Ronald Garfunkel Michael Giardina Rosemary Giuliano Brian Henebry Kristen Jacoby Brian Jones Kathryn Kehoe Richard Lau Elaine Lau Jane Mahler

Other Attendees

Robyn Ames Ellen Baker Kristie Balisciano Mark Berardi

Anna Bower Richardson

Josh Carey

Rebecca Eleck Bruce

Ed Edelson

Christine Edelson Sarah Edelson Baskin

Ellen Fox Patrice Gans Subira Gordon Linda Halgunseth Helena Jedlinsky Janice Joseph Melissa Lopata Deborah Foord Anne Green Melissa Green Ruth Jaffe Lisa Lettieri

Patricia Lindenman
Julie Loughran
Kate MacKinney
Susan Magee
Meg McCreedy
Patrick McKenna

Carah Menard
Cynthia Merrick
Shirley Michaels
Tricia Poirier
Susan Pronovost
Lawrence Rifkin
Barbara Ryer
Sherry Seward
Randi Solomon
Mitchell Solomon
Bilal Tajildeen
Kim Welch
Bonnie Wilson
Cyndi Zoldy