# CONNECTICUT COMMUNITY FOUNDATION Minutes of the 98th Annual Meeting August 12, 2021

# Mattatuck Museum and virtually via Zoom

# I. Welcome, Call to Order and Chair's Remarks

Kathy Taylor, chair of the Board of Trustees, welcomed attendees to the Foundation's 98th Annual Meeting and called the meeting to order.

Ms. Taylor shared highlights, continued efforts and outcomes of the following activities and programs:

- \$975,000 were awarded in college scholarships for the 2021-2022 school year.
- \$4.8 million in grants were distributed to nonprofits in the community.
- Partnering with the United Way of Greater Waterbury, the COVID-19 Response Fund
  was built with contributions from hundreds of donors and allowed resources to be
  swiftly distributed to nonprofits and community organizations on the front lines of
  meeting pandemic-induced or related needs. Over \$750,000 in grants were distributed
  between March 2020 and July 2021.
- The COVID-19 Recovery and Resilience Fund, built with donor dollars and a one-time increase in the Foundation's spending rate, awarded over \$250,000 to date focused on nonprofit capacity building, ensuring more equitable access to services and systems, and systemic change that will have lasting positive.
- Give Local Greater Waterbury and the Litchfield Hills raised more than \$2 million for over 282 local organizations in 2021.
- Grassroots Leadership Grants program continues to support Waterbury residents working to bring positive change to local neighborhoods.
- Women's Giving Circle completed another annual cycle with 59 participants who pooled more than \$25,000 that they granted to support programs that enhance the lives of local women and girls.

Ms. Taylor thanked donors, legacy society members and volunteers for all of their contributions to and partnership with the Foundation's work. Ms. Taylor celebrated leaders, staff and volunteers of nonprofits across Greater Waterbury and the Litchfield Hills.

# II. Approval of Minutes

Ms. Taylor referred members to the posted minutes from the 98<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Foundation, which was held virtually on August 13, 2020, and called for a motion to approve the minutes.

MOTION to approve the minutes from the August 13, 2020 meeting as presented. Motion carried.

#### III. President's Remarks

Julie Loughran, president and CEO, addressed attendees and highlighted the following:

The Foundation's new strategic direction, which was adopted in late 2019, was
founded on a recognition of clear disparities in outcomes and opportunities among
residents of our region, and focused on building equitable opportunity,

strengthening our nonprofit sector and seeking long-term systems change. The plan centered values of equity, diversity, and inclusion, as well as values of transparency, courage and purpose. The plan became the Foundation's North Star when the pandemic hit.

- COVID-19 Response Fund established by the Foundation and United Way of Greater Waterbury allowed us to move resources to nonprofits in our region that were addressing needs for food, childcare, housing, technology, and personal protective equipment.
- The COVID-19 Recovery and Resilience Fund received generous donations from donors who saw the importance of supporting long-term resilience of nonprofits.
- Redefined grantmaking priorities prioritize education and economic opportunity, health equity, community engagement, and a continued focus on strengthening the nonprofit sector.
- There has been energy around cooperative giving through the Women's Giving Circle, the Pride in the Hills Fund and the Waterbury Black Giving Circle.

Ms. Loughran closed her remarks with gratitude for the Foundation board and staff, and for all of the donors, volunteers and leaders for addressing the challenges and embracing the opportunities that have faced the community in the past year.

# IV. Election of Trustees

Michael Giardina, chair of the Governance Committee, conducted the election of trustees.

Mr. Giardina introduced second- and first-term nominees. Mr. Giardina placed two current trustees into nomination for a second three-year term ending in 2024: Brian Jones and Stephen Seward. Mr. Giardina placed into nomination Avery Gaddis, Tomas Olivo, Jean Solomon, and Saran White for an initial three-year term ending in 2024.

Mr. Giardina formally offered all of the nominees for a vote by members and called for a motion.

MOTION to elect the nominees as trustees to the Connecticut Community Foundation for a three-year term. Motion seconded and passed unanimously.

This concluded the business portion of the annual meeting.

# V. Departing Trustees

Kathy Taylor acknowledged departing trustees Dave Pelletier and Doug Johnson for their dedication to and work with the Foundation.

# VI. Trustee Fund Award Presentations

Doug Johnson introduced the Trustee Fund and the annual Trustee Fund Awards.

Margaret Field presented a 2021 Trustee Fund award to the Maternal and Infant Health Workgroup. Angie Matthis, Althea Marshall Brooks, Caitlin Collins and Donald Thompson accepted the award on behalf of the workgroup.

Rabbi Eric Polokoff presented a 2021 Trustee Fund award to the Naugatuck Valley Project for their environmental justice work. Kim McLaughlin, Angela Aybar, Brenda Moreisette, Richard Natale and Karime Pimentel accepted the award.

# VII. Adjournment and Closing Remarks

Ms. Taylor offered thanks and congratulations to the Trustee Fund award recipients. She thanked the Trustee Fund members for shining a light on great work in the community and thanked everyone for attending the meeting. The annual meeting was adjourned.

Attest:	
	Kathy Bower, Secretary

# Connecticut Community Foundation Attendees of the 2021 Annual Meeting and Summer Social

#### **Foundation Members**

Michael Giardina

Reggie Beamon Susan Beatty Martha Bernstein Kathy Bower

Barbara Bradbury-Pape

Isabelle V. Curtiss Emily Eisen

Becky Eleck Bruce Judith Eslami

Jacqueline Farrell

Ann Merriam Feinberg

Michael Feinberg Margaret Field Deborah Foord Valerie Friedman Deborah Fuller

Ron Garfunkel

Subira Gordon
Carol Haskins
Brian Henebry
Forest Herron
Bruce Humiston
Nancy Humiston
Kristen Jacoby
Douglas Johnson

Douglas Johnson Megan Johnson Brian Jones

Kathryn Kehoe Iane Mahler

Keith Mahler Jeffrey Martin Patricia McKinley

Cynthia Merrick

Virginia Middleton

Peter North
Linda Noujaim
Selim Noujaim
David Pelletier
Rabbi Eric Polokoff
Tina Reardon
David Robinson

Edwin Rodriguez
Marjorie Ross
Carolyn Setlow
Stephen Seward
Kathy Taylor

Donald Thompson Frederick Townsend

**Dorothy West** 

#### Other Attendees

LaTeena Bartee
Mark Berardi
Robert Burns
Josh Carey
Caitlin Collins
Kim Croom
Hugette Cruz
Allyn DeMaida
Bill DeMaida
Christine Edelson

Ed Edelson

**Audrey Harrell** 

Sarah Edelson Baskin Francesca Evangelista Jorge Evangelista Brendan Foulois Avery Gaddis Angela Holmes
Mickal Holmes
Sam Jones
Melissa Lopata
Julie Loughran
Kate MacKinney

Althea Marshall Brooks Angie Matthis

Chris McGuire
Patrick McKenna
Kim McLaughlin
Jackie Miller
David Morgan
Richard Natale
Nancy Pelaez
Karime Pimentel

Kathy Pitner

Tricia Poirier
Larry Rifkin
Mary Risner
Derek Santiago
Sherry Seward
Loraine Shea
Dawn Skipworth
Jean Solomon

Elizabeth Szymanoski Kevin Taylor

Jessica Their Anne Urkawich Allan Vega Saran White Tania Wieck