CONNECTICUT COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

Minutes of the 99th Annual Meeting

August 11, 2022

Litchfield Community Center and virtually via Zoom

I. Welcome, Call to Order and Chair's Remarks

Kathy Taylor, chair of the Board of Trustees, welcomed attendees to the Foundation's 99th Annual Meeting and called the meeting to order.

Ms. Taylor shared highlights, continued efforts and outcomes of the work that had taken place during her six-year term on the board. Kathy offered reflections on the Foundation's direction in addressing community needs, and reference the North Star of the Foundation's mission, vision and values.

Ms. Taylor shared highlights from 2022 including:

- The distribution of more than \$6.6 million in grants to nonprofit organizations to support their important work;
- Support for 400 students with more than \$1 million in scholarships;
- Several new legacy donors who joined over 200 people who have opted to contribute to the Foundation through their estate plans;
- Support of several leadership, organizing, and community-building efforts through the Grassroots Leadership program;
- Collaboration with towns, nonprofits, other funders, and more on initiatives related to health equity through the Greater Waterbury Health Partnership, to the distribution of funds under the American Rescue Plan, and to the equitable expansion of opportunity through the Working Cities initiative, the new and exciting Waterbury Promise scholarship program, and more.

Ms. Taylor thanked donors, legacy society members and volunteers for all of their contributions to and partnership with the Foundation's work. Ms. Taylor celebrated leaders, staff and volunteers of nonprofits across Greater Waterbury and the Litchfield Hills.

II. Approval of Minutes

Ms. Taylor referred members to the posted minutes from the 98th Annual Meeting of the Foundation, which was held in person at the Mattatuck Museum and virtually on Zoom on August 12, 2021, and called for a motion to approve the minutes.

MOTION to approve the minutes from the August 12, 2021 meeting as presented. Motion carried.

III. President's Remarks

Julie Loughran, president and CEO, addressed attendees and highlighted the importance and impact of legacies—from organizations to individuals, and the opportunities taken this past year to highlight legacy donors and share their stories as the Foundation approaches its 100th anniversary. Ms. Loughran shared quotes and reflections from legacy donor stories and noted the common thread of a strong sense of values.

Ms. Loughran referred to the Foundation's values—equity, diversity and inclusion; integrity and transparency; courage and purpose; and thoughtful leadership—which are reflected in the strategic priorities and guided the Foundation's development and adoption of a racial equity plan focused across all of the organization's work, with consideration for efforts radiating out into the broader community.

Ms. Loughran also highlighted cooperative giving initiatives—the Women's Giving Circle, the Waterbury Black Giving Circle and the Pride in the Hills Fund.

Ms. Loughran closed her remarks noting the inspiration she finds through and gratitude she holds for the Foundation staff, trustees, volunteers and donors addressing the challenges and embracing the opportunities that have faced the community in the past year and for the work she anticipates they will take on building tomorrow together.

IV. Election of Trustees

Michael Giardina, chair of the Governance Committee, conducted the election of trustees.

Mr. Giardina introduced first-term and second-term nominees. Mr. Giardina placed into nomination James Higgins, Janie McDermott and Adrienne Parkmond for an initial three-year term ending in 2025. Mr. Giardina placed Kathy Brochhausen into nomination for a second three-year term ending in 2025.

Mr. Giardina formally offered all of the nominees for a vote by members and called for a motion.

MOTION to elect the nominees as trustees to the Connecticut Community Foundation for a three-year term. Motion seconded and passed unanimously.

This concluded the business portion of the annual meeting.

V. Departing Trustees

Kathy Taylor acknowledged departing trustees Reggie Beamon, Valerie Friedman, and Kathy Kehoe for their work with the Foundation. Ms. Taylor also acknowledged Linda Halgunseth who ended her term early due to relocating out of state. Ms. Taylor noted that she too would be terming off the board at the end of the calendar year when her officer term ended.

VI. Trustee Fund Award Presentations

Lynn Franklin-Henry introduced the Trustee Fund and the annual Trustee Fund Awards.

Lynn presented a 2022 Trustee Fund award to the UnGroup Society for its innovative programs. Warren Leach, Nadine Leach, Rhonda Gatling accepted the award and spoke briefly about the organization's work.

Lynn presented a 2022 Trustee Fund award to Jane Doe No More recognized for its Survivor Speaks Program. Donna Palomba accepted the award and spoke briefly about the organization's work.

VII. Adjournment and Closing Remarks

Ms. Taylor offered congratulations to the Trustee Fund award recipients. She thanked the Trustee Fund members for shining a light on great work in the community. Ms. Taylor thanked everyone for attending the meeting. The annual meeting was adjourned for dessert and mingling.

Connecticut Community Foundation

Attendees of the 2022 Annual Meeting and Summer Social

Foundation Members

Reggie Beamon	Deborah Foord	Tomas Olivo
Martha Bernstein	Lynn Franklin-Henry	Donna Palomba
Rachel Carley	Valerie Friedman	John Palomba
William Cohen	Deborah Fuller	Rabbi Eric Polokoff
Isabelle V. Curtiss	Ron Garfunkel	Christine Reardon
Emily Eisen	Michael Giardina	David Robinson
Rebecca Eleck Bruce	Carole Gibney	Edwin Rodriguez
Judith Eslami	Charles Henry	Steve Seward
Jacqueline Farrell	Peter Jacoby	Jean Solomon
Ann Merriam Feinberg	Julie Loughran	Kathy Taylor
Michael Feinberg	Patricia McKinley	Donald Thompson
Margaret Field	Cynthia Merrick	Frederick Townsend

Other Attendees

Sarah Alexander	Daphne Deeds	Jorge Evangelista
Maria Arole	Gina Devaux	Fiona Foulois
Mark Berardi	Joyce DiPietro	Patrice Gans
Althea Brooks	Christine Edelson	Rhonda Hunter Gatling
Josh Carey	Ed Edelson	Jacquelyn Grant
Gabriela Crespo	Sarah Edelson Baskin	Rosemarie Greco
Linda D.	Francesca Evangelista	Anne Green

Andy Gumkowski	Rosanne Martino	Derek Santiago
Audrey Harrell	Colin McDermott	Sherry Seward
James Higgins	Janie McDermott	John Sousa
John Hughes	Chris McGuire	Alan Taylor
Jo-Ann Iannotti	Patrick McKenna	Chase Taylor
Yoellie Iglesias	Jacqueline Miller	Helen Taylor
Amy Kaniewski	Steven Minkler	Kevin Taylor
Harold Kramer	Jessica Ocasio	Allan Vega
Nadine Leach	Matthew Ocasio	Carmen Veloria
Warren Leach	Tricia Poirier	Courtney Watts
Melissa Lopata	Sharon Houle Randall	Leslie Watts
Kate Mackinney	Karen Reddington Hughes	Monroe Webster
Eleanor Martin	Ana Rosa	